- Personal Injury
- Criminal Defense
- Family Law
- Civil Litigation
Nearly 30 people a day are killed in the United States from a drunk driving accident. That’s one tragic death every 48 minutes.
The annual cost of all alcohol-related crashes is over $51 billion.
Vermont has a “zero tolerance” law against drunk driving. In Vermont, a person is guilty of impaired driving if the alcohol is “influencing” him or her “to the slightest degree.” If the drunk driver hurts someone, the law allows the injured person to bring a lawsuit to get back medical bills, lost wages, and money for the pain and inconvenience the injury caused.
In addition, a bar or restaurant that over-serves alcohol to the driver may be liable for those damages as well. Vermont’s Dram Shop law forbids the furnishing of alcoholic beverages to a person who is under the influence of alcohol – or has been served so much alcohol that it would be reasonable to expect them to be under the influence.
This means that the bar or restaurant can be equally responsible for the damage the drunk driver caused. This is also true for “social hosts” – people who are not being paid for the drinks they serve – if the drunk driver is a minor. “Social Host” lawsuits cannot be brought if the drunk driver is 21 years old or older.
If you are injured by a drunk driver or a driver under the influence of drugs, call us. We will gather the police reports, hire chemical experts to prove the driver was under the influence, review witness statements, and prepare you case in a prompt and thorough fashion.
We will seek a fair and adequate settlement of drunk driving accident with the insurance company, and we will work hard to get you the compensation you will need for medical bills, lost wages and pain and suffering.
Contact Kenney & Henchen for a free initial consultation.
Or call us: (802) 871-5638. We can help.